DIY Succulent Terrarium

When my husband and I first got married, we bought a beautiful ficus tree for inside our apartment. Little did we know that they are notoriously finicky. It totally failed to thrive despite our efforts, and we dubbed it the Charlie Brown tree, before getting rid of it completely. I’m glad to say that our skills have somewhat improved over the past few years when it comes to plant care.

I don’t know whether it is nesting kicking in or what, but I have had a HUGE desire lately to bring more plants indoors and to put forth a genuine effort in learning how to better care for them. I picked up a succulent plant on a whim at our local farmer’s market two weeks ago, and after letting it sit in it’s plastic container for a while, I decided to create my own succulent terrarium!

DIY Succulent Terrarium

There is abundant succulent plant inspiration all over Pinterest, which is what first inspired this project. I also took a few cues from this tutorial of Martha Stewart’s. Besides how pretty they are, one of the appealing things about succulents is that they are relatively low maintenance. They only need to be watered once a week, if not every other week. I figured they were a safe place to start for my little indoor gardening project.

DIY Succulent Terrarium

Besides the one plant I’d picked up at the farmer’s market, I bought two other small succulents at Lowe’s. They were about $3 each. I also picked up some potting soil and natural coarse sand. I had hopes to thrift the perfect container for my terrarium, but had no such luck. I was able to find a fishbowl type glass container at Michael’s for about $3 with a coupon.

DIY Succulent Terrarium

I first layered about an inch of the coarse sand at the bottom of the container for drainage purposes. I then removed all of my succulent plants from their plastic containers and decided what arrangement I wanted them in. I filled in around them with potting soil, just up to the top of their roots, and finished things off with another layer of the natural course sand.

DIY Succulent Terrarium

My terrarium has found a home as a centerpiece for our dining room table. During the day, I set it by the door to our patio to get maximum sunlight. I love this little creation, and am looking forward to seeing it grow and thrive!

DIY Succulent Terrarium

Leave a Reply

