DIY Gathered Floral Clutch

I am always up for a good crafty challenge, so when Linda and Holly announced that they were hosting a clutch party, I decided to join in on the fun! I wanted to create something cheery and spring-like – here’s what I made!

DIY Gathered Floral Clutch

I had a handful of bookmarked clutch tutorials, but I settled on this gathered clutch tutorial from Noodlehead. I’ve mentioned Noodlehead previously as a wonderful source for sewing tutorials. The instructions were fairly simple, and I was able to put this together in an afternoon.

DIY Gathered Floral Clutch

I used all thrifted fabric for my clutch, mostly from a bag sale earlier this year. I’m especially fond of the shimmery olive upholstery fabric I used for the stripe across the front. I buy my zippers in bulk from Zip It on Etsy – I like keeping a rainbow of colors on hand for spur of the moment projects like this!

DIY Gathered Floral Clutch

To further embellish and “springify” my new clutch, I made a small felt flower (like these, minus the pin back) which I simply attached with fabric glue.

DIY Gathered Floral Clutch

I’m quite pleased with my end product, and can’t wait to put my new clutch to good use!

4 thoughts on “DIY Gathered Floral Clutch

Leave a Reply

