Bread & Shrimp Skewers with Romaine Salad

I’ve always been a huge Caesar salad fan, but not of the anchovies, raw egg, or gobs of mayonnaise in some homemade dressings. I came across this recipe for Bread & Shrimp Skewers with Romaine Salad in an issue of Everyday Food, which boasted being a twist on a classic Caesar. After trying it for myself, I can say that I’ve discovered my new go-to salad for summer!

Bread & Shrimp Skewers with Romaine Salad

The shrimp are marinated in garlic, lemon zest, olive oil, salt, and pepper, and are skewered with cubes of crusty bread, and then baked until the bread is golden and the shrimp are cooked through. The salad’s dressing is made from olive oil, lemon juice, dijon mustard, garlic, parmesan, salt, pepper, and a mashed hard boiled egg yolk. The dressing was creamy, tangy, and not overly sweet or heavy – exactly how I like it! For amplified flavor, I used a parmesan peppercorn baguette for the croutons, which was an awesome combo with the salad dressing. I liked how the croutons were crunchy and golden on the outside, but retained a certain softness on the inside.

Bread & Shrimp Skewers with Romaine Salad

As far as presentation goes, I think this would be a fun way to serve up salad for guests. I will always and forever be a fan of homemade croutons, and I think the act of skewering them with the shrimp is a fun and creative way to eat a salad! I can’t wait to make this again!

Bread & Shrimp Skewers with Romaine Salad

One thought on “Bread & Shrimp Skewers with Romaine Salad

Leave a Reply

