Spicy Grilled Zucchini with Parmesan

I’m continuing my personal challenge to cook with at least one new-to-me ingredient each month this year. Zucchini was my chosen ingredient for April. My main complaint with eating zucchini in the past has been its texture. It always seemed…slimy. My husband and I recently had a hankering for steak, so I figured it would be a good time to experiment with grilling zucchini! I had hope that grilling the zucchini (versus sauteing) would help make it a little more crisp.

Spicy Grilled Zucchini with Parmesan

Since this was my first time cooking zucchini, I did a little online research before I got started. I got the idea for my zucchini preparation method here. I cut the ends off of the zucchini and cut it in half lengthwise. I then brushed it with olive oil and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne. The zucchini went onto the grill, cut side down, for about 4 minutes. We then flipped the zucchini and sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top. After a few more minutes, the zucchini was ready! (Note: Cook times will vary depending on your grill, just keep an eye on it so it doesn’t burn!)

Spicy Grilled Zucchini with Parmesan

I must say, I was pretty impressed! The center of the zucchini was still soft, but it had a nice charred layer on both sides. I loved the punchy combination of the cayenne and parmesan. My husband has already requested we make this zucchini again, so I’d say this was a successful venture!

You can check out previous posts within my new-to-me ingredient challenge here: brussels sprouts, pepperoncini peppers, & kale.

Leave a Reply

