Embracing The Trend: High-Low Hemlines

Back in 2008, when I was newly engaged, I spotted a beautiful gown with an asymmetrical hem in a bridal magazine and fell head over heels. After I finally was able to locate it at a bridal boutique, it was the first dress I tried on, and was the one I ended up buying. It was perfect for me! As a bride, this cut allowed me to have the benefits of a shorter gown, but still have a train of sorts. Back then, I’d heard this style referred to as the “mullet dress”, which made me shudder. I was smitten with this style, and wouldn’t change a thing about my dress choice if I could.

Flash forward to the present. One trend I am overjoyed to see in the spotlight for spring is the high-low hemline. I’ve seen this style sported on style bloggers such as Kendi and Blair, as well as a multitude of others. While I have yet to own a high-low hemline piece (besides my wedding gown of course), I have done some research into a few plausible options for my wardrobe. I thought it would be fun to share some of the affordable options I’ve found, as well as some styling inspiration. I’ve paired each dress/skirt with items similar to what already exists in my wardrobe, and provided links so you can see how I’ve worn those other items in the past. Enjoy! (Psst – you can click on the collages below to view my original set on Polyvore, along with sources for each item shown.)

High-Low Hemlines #4
I adore this beautiful floral frock from Delia’s. I would play up it’s girly factor with a bright pink cardigan and nail polish. A leopard necklace would add a fun pattern mixing element, and I think navy tights and wedge booties round out this fun look!

High-Low Hemlines #3

This long sleeve knit midi dress from Piperlime can easily be dressed up or dressed down. I am loving all things turquoise and mint, so I paired it with a whole lot of punchy accessories like fun earrings, teal t-strap heels, and my favorite spring nail polish shade, Essie’s Turquoise & Caicos. I love adding a splash of leopard at every opportunity, so I of course had to work in a leopard belt!

High-Low Hemlines #2I tracked down this ultra feminine blush pink lace dress for a mere $22 at J. C. Penney! For a bohemian look, I’ve paired it with a number of cognac leather accessories, such as my favorite strappy sandals from H&M, a braided belt, studded wrist cuff, and a fringe purse. The feather earrings would add a touch of whimsy!

High-Low Hemlines #1

This Forever 21 skirt is under $20 – how cute is the polka dot pattern and sheer overlay? Paired with a brown cardigan, olive 3/4 sleeve tee, green tights, and my Chinese Laundry wedges, this outfit is something I’d wear to work. My accessories of choice would be a floral pin and agate necklace.

I haven’t pulled the trigger and purchased any of these pieces (yet), but I am most certainly entertaining the idea. Which piece do you like best? Have you/would you try out the high-low hemline trend?

2 thoughts on “Embracing The Trend: High-Low Hemlines

Leave a Reply

