Secondhand Saturday: I Heart Hand Me Downs

Throughout all of the Secondhand Saturday posts I’ve written, I have failed to mention one fantastic source of secondhand clothing and accessories – hand me downs! I used to get clothing hand me downs all the time from friends and acquaintances when I was a kid. I guess that was a perk of being petite – I was next in line whenever someone outgrew something!

Secondhand Saturday: I Heart Hand Me Downs

I previously mentioned that I played stylist in my Mom’s closet while visiting during Christmas weekend. While I was pulling a few outfits together for her, I came across this sparkly scarf tucked away with her “special occasion” dresses. Needless to say, after getting permission, it went into my suitcase to come home with me. Thanks Mom!

Secondhand Saturday: I Heart Hand Me Downs

I think the combination of black and gold is incredibly classy and timeless. This scarf has a pretty floral pattern woven into the fabric, which you can’t really see with the way I’m wearing it. Though it’s meant to be worn shawl style, I think it can easily double as a regular scarf. Oh the possibilities.

Secondhand Saturday: I Heart Hand Me Downs

However you plan on ringing in the New Year, I hope it’s fabulous!

Secondhand Saturday: I Heart Hand Me Downs

Shirt – thrifted
Cardigan – thrifted (Banana Republic)
Skort – thrifted (NY & Co.)
Shoes – secondhand via eBay
Scarf – hand me down from my Mom’s closet
Earrings – thrifted
Tights – Simply Vera by Vera Wang (Kohl’s)
Nails – OPI, An Affair In Red Square

4 thoughts on “Secondhand Saturday: I Heart Hand Me Downs

Leave a Reply

