Oh Hey There, 2012!

I can’t believe that the new year is right around the corner – where on earth has 2011 gone? I thought it would be fun to create a few blog-related goals for the new year, and share a little of what is in store for Kimbercrafts in 2012! Since my primary blog topics are the three C’s – crafts, clothes, and cooking, it seemed appropriate to create a goal for each category!

Crafts – This coming year, I want to learn how to create clothing from scratch using a commercial pattern. Patterns have always intimidated me – they strike me as complex and confusing. With the assistance of lessons from Home Ec and DIY Dress Up, I plan on conquering a pattern-based project very soon. The pattern has already been purchased, and my fabrics have been chosen! I’ll keep you posted on how it goes! ;)

Sewing Project Sneak Peek(a sneak peek of my next sewing project)

Clothes – I have a long term goal of creating a well curated closet of clothes that I love. This coming year, I am aiming to be increasingly selective and fastidious about my clothing purchases. I would like more of my purchases to be planned out and intentional, and I would like to cut down on impulse buys and (I almost hate to say it) fast fashion. I’ve been brainstorming a post which shares my personal methods of curating my closet, which I plan on sharing sometime soon.

Closet Tour(a peek at my closet, full tour here)

Cooking –  I would like to broaden my culinary horizons by seeking out recipes that use an ingredient that I have either never cooked with, or in some cases even tried before. Over this past year, I cooked with several ingredients for the first time ever: curry, quinoa, radishes, bulgur, lemongrass, etc. While these ingredients may not sound very “out there” or adventurous to some, these were a step outside of my comfort zone as a notoriously picky eater. My goal is to single out at least one new-to-me ingredient per month in 2012, and share my culinary adventures here with you! I am sure many tasty things await in the new year!

Part Of My Cookbook Collection(part of my cookbook collection)

Thanks for coming along for the ride!

2 thoughts on “Oh Hey There, 2012!

  1. I’ve been working on that closet goal for a while, myself. I’m going on the next phase of it starting January first–I’m going to force myself to wear each and every item in my closet, a new on every day, so that I can really get at which pieces I’m holding onto for less-than-stellar reasons. Should be interesting. (:

Leave a Reply

