Secondhand Saturday: Apples For Autumn

In the spirit of this past week’s EBEW: DIY, I thought I’d work another DIY item into today’s Secondhand Saturday. Though this skirt is self-made, I made it from fabric I purchased at a garage sale, making it a Secondhand Saturday qualifier in my book!

Secondhand Saturday:

Secondhand Saturday:

Upon browsing my archives, I realized that this cute fruit printed skirt hasn’t gotten much blog exposure. Besides wearing it for EBEW: Floral last spring, I have been wearing it in mostly “off the blog” outfits. It was a great summer staple with a tank top and sandals, and I think the apple print is equally fitting for brisk fall days, paired with tights and scarves!

Secondhand Saturday:

I returned from vacation earlier this week (more on that later) to find that autumn has truly landed in our neck of the woods. Sadly, the looming rain is threatening to cancel my plans to visit a local pumpkin farm and corn maze today. At least I am not without a back up plan – I’ve scoured the internet for pumpkin-based recipes to try, and I’m stocked up on reclaimed fabric in autumn hues for a special project. Are you partaking in any fun autumn activities this weekend?

Secondhand Saturday:Shirt – thrifted (Derek Heart)
Skirt – self-made with fabric purchased at a garage sale
Shoes – thrifted (Old Navy)
Earrings – thrifted
Scarf – thrifted
Belt – thrifted
Tights – Simply Vera by Vera Wang (Kohl’s)
Nails – OPI, It’s All Greek To Me

Meet Virginia Design

4 thoughts on “Secondhand Saturday: Apples For Autumn

  1. So Cute!!! I went to a pumpkin patch with my two grandbabies today. It’s kinda weird in SoCal, because its 80 degrees out, but I tried. I wore a autumn print skirt with tights and T, like you have styled. You look so sweet and appropriate. I try. I may not have suceeded, but it’s fun. Now I am cooking a New England pot roast for my darling husband, so we will see what tomorrow will bring. Love your blog.

    • Thank you Rosie! Your comments always make me smile. :) After being rained out this past weekend, I’m really hoping to get to a pumpkin patch sometime before Halloween! You’ve also reminded me that slow cooker season is upon us – I better start collecting some recipes!

  2. very charmingly cute, the skirt is super adorable! I like how you take colors out of your floral skirt and incorporate into your outfit. Lovely belt too. And you have pretty earrings to match your scarf! And this may sound weird but girl, you’ve got a really tiny waist, the last time I had a tiny waist like this was when i was 16.

    love,mongs
    mythriftycloset.blogspot.com

    • Haha, thanks Mongs! I’m sure the elastic-waist skirt and belt are “assisting” my waistline, but the rest I tribute to being a long distance runner. ;)

Leave a Reply

