Grilled Skirt Steak Gyros

I am a big fan of Mediterranean food. I cooked my own gyros for the first time the other day – sooo good! The recipe I used can be found here.

Grilled Skirt Steak Gyros

I started by making a marinade using olive oil, garlic, oregano, paprika, salt and pepper. I transferred one tablespoon of the marinade into a small bowl and stirred with Greek yogurt that was slightly watered down to create a dressing. I tossed sliced rings of green pepper, onion, and two small steaks in the larger bowl of marinade. I grilled the pepper, onions, and steak until the vegetables were slightly charred, and the steaks were cooked through. I grilled the pita for about a minute on each side, then filled with sliced steak, the grilled veggies, and chopped watercress. I liberally added the yogurt dressing on top.

Grilled Skirt Steak Gyros

We seldomly cook steak at home, so when we do it’s quite a treat! It is perfectly acceptable to substitute a less expensive cut of steak for the skirt steak, if you’re are keeping to a grocery budget. I know I’ve said before that I am a huge fan of yogurt sauces. This one was the perfect tartness, and was slightly spicy from the paprika and garlic. It really complimented the steak nicely. Another dinner success!

3 thoughts on “Grilled Skirt Steak Gyros

Leave a Reply

