Personalized Baby Name Bunting

Two of my friends recently welcomed their precious baby girl, Noelle, into the world. I wanted to give them a handmade gift, and thought making a personalized bunting was a great option. This is the third bunting I’ve made using the tutorial from the Home Ec e-course I am taking.

Personalized Baby Name Bunting

One of my favorite handmade gift “tricks” is to scour the online registries for weddings, baby showers, etc. This gave me an idea of the couple’s color preferences, nursery decor, etc. I took a cue from the nursery bedding I saw on my friends’ baby registry, and chose to use alternating pink and green polka dotted felt for the main circle of the bunting. I used white felt for the border and lettering on the bunting.

Personalized Baby Name Bunting

The baby’s name was kept under wraps until she was born, which was one day before I left for vacation. I was able to use materials already in my stash, besides the ribbon. A rainy vacation day was the perfect opportunity to work on this project. I used a jar as a template for the circles, and hand cut all of the letters.

Bunting Detail

I hand stitched the letters into place using complimentary embroidery floss, to make the letters really pop.

Bunting Detail

I took the individual felt circles with me to Michael’s so I could choose the perfect ribbon. This striped grosgrain ribbon seemed very fitting. I used my sewing machine to piece the bunting together.

Personalized Baby Name Bunting

I’m very pleased with the results! The bunting is currently in the mail, along with a few cute baby outfits (I couldn’t resist). I hope they love it! You can see the photos of my previous buntings here and here.

Leave a Reply

