What I Wore: It’s Easy Being Green

This skirt is green in more ways than one. The obvious is the lovely kelly green hue which I am adoring for the spring and summer months. The not so obvious is that the skirt is self-made from thrifted fabric. I used the same tutorial as several other self-made skirts which have graced this blog recently.

What I Wore: It's Easy Being Green

I always check the linens section of my local Salvation Army for fabric, tablecloths, flat sheets, or other items worthy of re-purposing. Not only is this a money saver, but thrifting fabric is more sustainable than purchasing all new fabric. I am very fortunate to have a second hand shop in my town which specializes in fabrics and sewing supplies. It. Is. Amazing. The store is run by an all volunteer not-for-profit organization. They accept donations from the public, and their prices are very, very reasonable. They literally weigh every donation they accept so they can track how much they are keeping from going to the landfill – it adds up to be about 10 tons a year. Totally mind boggling! I always feel good about spending my dollars there, knowing that I am supporting their mission to reduce waste and educate my community about greener living.

What I Wore: It's Easy Being Green

What I Wore: It's Easy Being Green

Shirt – Ross
Skirt – self-made
Leggings – NYC Boutique
Boots – Aldo
Necklace – gift (Lia Sophia)
Watch – Betsey Johnson
Belt – thrifted

One thought on “What I Wore: It’s Easy Being Green

  1. Great outfit! I love the color combination. The necklace ties it together nicely. I can’t believe the thrift store prevents 10 TONS of clothing etc. from going into the landfill. Amazing! Another great reason to buy secondhand.

Leave a Reply

