Everybody, Everywear: Florals

I was kind of stumped when I saw that this month’s Everybody, Everywear challenge was to wear florals. I have maybe two floral items in my wardrobe, one of which was the maxi dress I wore for last month’s EBEW challenge. No reason to fret though, I came up with a crafty (and thrifty) solution – I made my own floral skirt!

Everybody, Everywear: Florals

Ages ago, I’d bookmarked the World’s Easiest Skirt tutorial by Tania of What Would A Nerd Wear. I finally got around to trying it out! I found this fun fabric at a garage sale a few years ago – I took home several yards of it for only $1! I thought its pattern would make a cute skirt for spring and summer. I like the whimsical cherries and apples in the print, and that the floral is not overwhelming. The total project cost for the skirt was under $2 (for the fabric, elastic, & thread) – not too shabby!

Everybody, Everywear: Florals

True to the tutorial name, this skirt was very easy to make. No pattern was necessary (I chose to not add pockets), I just had to take a few measurements so it fit like I wanted it to. After I finished making this skirt, I actually went back to the fabric store to get more elastic so I could make a few more! I’ll give you a peek of another one of my handmade skirts tomorrow.

Everybody, Everywear: Florals

It seemed appropriate to wear one of my handmade flower pins with this outfit. I plan on making a few more in “springy” hues soon!

Everybody, Everywear: FloralsTee – TJ Maxx
Cardigan – NYC Boutique (Active Basic)
Skirt – self-made
Shoes – Candie’s (Kohl’s)
Necklace – secondhand via eBay (Lia Sophia)
Belt – thrifted
Flower Pin – self-made
Nails – OPI, Vodka & Caviar

Be sure to hop on over to EBEW and check out how everyone else styled their floral pieces!

Florals | Everybody, Everywear

11 thoughts on “Everybody, Everywear: Florals

  1. Hello. I’ve just found you through EBEW :)

    I love how bright and happy your outfit is. And then was super surprised and happy when I realized that you’d made the skirt yourself. AND the flower pin :) You are one amazing lady. Love your necklace and pretty red belt.

  2. Oh my goodness, that fabric pattern is just TOO CUTE. Seriously! You got a couple yards of it for only $1?? I’m so insanely jealous right now. It’s seriously awesome. and looks great as a skirt! I love it paired with the red and the blue :)

Leave a Reply

