Macaroni & Cheese With Ham

Macaroni & cheese is my all time favorite comfort food, no contest. I have tried dozens of different recipes for it over the years. They’ve ranged from quick and easy stovetop recipes, to long, labor intensive processes. Though many of them were repeat worthy, I always love testing new varieties. Over the weekend, I whipped up one of Martha Stewart’s mac & cheese recipes from the book Great Food Fast. The recipe can be found online here. From start to finish, this meal took about an hour (half an hour of prep, half an hour in the oven).

To create the sauce, I sauteed an onion in butter, sprinkled it with flour, and whisked in the milk. I continued to whisk until thickened and bubbly. I then added a combination of white and yellow cheddar to the mix. I seasoned liberally with salt, pepper, and cayenne, and folded in cooked elbow noodles and diced ham.

Macaroni & Cheese with Ham: Making the SauceI then evenly spread the mixture into a casserole dish. To create a delicious crunchy topping, I sprinkled the dish with additional shredded cheese, seasoned breadcrumbs, grated Parmesan, and rosemary. The dish went into the oven for 30 minutes.Macaroni & Cheese with Ham: Pre-OvenWhen it came out, it looked like this…mmm!

Macaroni & Cheese with HamThis recipe was very creamy and delicious, plus it was not too difficult. This was the first mac & cheese recipe I followed which called for ham, which I found to be a hearty addition which added a nice flavor to the dish. I think that adding some veggies into the mix, such as peas, carrots, or green pepper would be an interesting twist as well.

Macaroni & Cheese with Ham

What about you? Do you have a favorite mac & cheese recipe?

Leave a Reply

