Tried & True Tutorials: Handmade Oven Mitts

I’ve been digging through some of my photo archives to look at craft projects I’ve worked on over the years. I typically take photos of every craft work on or gift I give. I find this especially useful when planning birthday or Christmas gifts for the next year. It’s also interesting to see how my crafting style or skills have evolved.

I made a set of these cute oven mitts for my mother-in-law for Christmas this past year. I followed this tutorial from Skip To My Lou.

Handmade Oven MittsI used an oven mitt that I already owned as a template to create this pair. I simply traced an outline onto the insulation layer, and cut all of my other pieces to match.

Handmade Oven MittMaking the oven mitts took a bit of patience. There were many parallel lines to sew! I used the evenly spaced polka dot pattern of this fabric as a guide while quilting the layers together. I was able to keep my lines moderately straight this way. Also, my sewing machine had a tough time sewing through so many layers (4 layers of fabric, plus two of insulation.

Handmade Oven MittI would definitely follow this same tutorial again if I choose to make someone else a pair for a gift. I think it would be extra cute to make a coordinating apron to go along with the mitts! What do you think?

Leave a Reply

