Home Ec Returns

I recently saw that the Home Ec online sewing class I signed up for over the summer is being reoffered. I wanted to share a little about my personal experience as a Home Ec student for anyone who might consider taking the class for themselves. At the time I started this e-course, I’d had my sewing machine for two years, but had never learned how to use it. I literally couldn’t even thread the needle. Now, seven months later, sewing has become one of my favorite hobbies! Both my skills and confidence have drastically improved with time.

The projects for Home Ec start off small and basic and work their way up in size and skill. I started by making cloth napkins (which I had to re-do, haha) and will end with a quilt. All of the tutorials for the Home Ec projects are accompanied by well-done photographs. Each of the three instructors has a very unique personality and project style. One huge benefit about this class is the “go at your own pace” set up. Some of the other students were doing a project a day. I am still working my way through them as I have the time. No pressure!

For full class details and registration, visit Home Ec Online here!

Now for a little show and tell! Here are a few photos of some of the projects I have made using the class tutorials.

A patchwork baby bib.

Chicken BibFelt bunting – a gift for my Mom who is a school librarian.

Library BuntingZipper pouches galore! These were all Christmas gifts for family members.

Zipper Pouches Galore!A hanging organizer, the shoes are just for show. This was actually a Christmas gift for my brother who is living in a tiny NYC dorm. Perfect for maximizing a small space!

Handmade Door OrganizerA fabric storage box.

Fabric Cubby FrontThe “Mod Table Runner”. You can read my blog post about this project here.

Handmade Tablerunner - Side 1Cloth napkins with ric rac edges. I can’t wait to set a springtime table with these!

Double Sided NapkinA customized sewing machine cover. You can read about this project here.

Sewing Machine CoverMy leopard print canvas bag. A ton of work, but worth it! This project was blogged here.

Handmade Canvas BagOverall this e-course has been a worthwhile resource! Hope you have a good Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

